Trail braking

Forums ChampSchool General Event Discussion Trail braking

• This topic has 11 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 1 week ago by Colin Lester.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Heather Grasby
    Up
    Down

Hi, I’m new to trail braking and have really only tried it a few times, recently I got new reduced reach clutch and brake levers so I could reach them better…. I still find it difficult to simultaneously hold the front brake and the throttle. I will practice in the garage as I saw in the video. Also when trail braking do you this for EVERY corner? Even the long sweeping corners, that you can see right around?
    One day I will go down south and take a course, would love to!!!!! I wish there were schools closer to me… do you supply bikes if a person was to fly down? Sincerely Heather

Nick Ienatsch
    Up
    Down

Hello Heather…so glad you wrote because there is a fundamental mistake in your practice that can be cleared up quickly and will make trail-braking a much simpler job: We never use the front brake and accelerating throttle at the same time! Major deal.

Throttle is rolled completely shut as we sneak on the front brake, the front brake is eased completely off as we initiate throttle. What a relief, right? Trying to manipulate throttle and front brake at the same time would be enormously difficult. I must note that there is a group out there teaching “front brake and accelerating throttle together”, but extremely poor and wrong advice like that was a big motivator for Champ U.

The one time we will have front brake and throttle on together is during rev-matching during a downshift. But in that case, the clutch lever is in, so the throttle “blip” (short rev) doesn’t accelerate the bike, it simply bring the rpm up to match the lower gear.